Don’t pick a book by its rating

Swapnil Agarwal
1 min readAug 26, 2022

--

Average ratings are useless for picking up your next read.

After reading 100s of books, I realized that the same book can be a life-changer for someone but a skippable one for someone else. Everyone is different. Recommendations have to be personalized!

A book I rated 5 stars might only get 3 from me if I rate it now.

The rating depends what have I already consumed, what am I currently looking for, personality, etc. Selecting your next book is underrated. It’s a commitment of hours of deep work after all.

A book has to be read at the right time.

The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People is a great book. But if you read Getting Things Done and Nonviolent Communication before, there’s not a lot of new epiphanies. It’s a good refresher.

Just finished a book?

A good way to get further reading recommendations is to get in touch with people who have read the same book. Ask them to name a better book than that. Shortcircuit your journey.

--

--